• HORNSBY 02 9910 9500
  • ST PETERS 02 9564 8000

News & Events

Josh Waters and New Suzuki GSX-R1000R Crowned 2017 Superbike Champions at Phillip Island Finale.


Going into the last round only 14 points separated Suzuki’s Josh Waters and his rivals Troy Herfoss for Honda CBR1000SP2 and Yamaha YZF-R1’s Wayne Maxwell.

Waters was taking no chances and blitzed the first race on his Suzuki GSX-R1000R to win the first by nearly 4 seconds. He then cruised to fifth place in the second, only having to finish to be declared 2017 Superbike Champion.

Waters was smart and consistent to win the Superbike Championship with 261 points. Second place went to Maxwell with Herfoss in third. The 2017 Superbike Championship marks Water’s third title and puts him amongst an exclusive group of Australian riders.

2017 Superbike Championship Top Ten
1 Josh WATERS Suzuki GSX-R1000R   261
2  Wayne MAXWELL Honda CBR1000SP2  257
3  Troy HERFOSS Yamaha YZF-R1   246
4  Daniel FALZON Yamaha YZF-R1   220
5  Robert BUGDEN Kawasaki  ZX-10R  219
6  Cru HALLIDAY Yamaha YZF-R1  206
7  Bryan STARING Honda 184
8  Michael BLAIR Yamaha YZF-R1 138
9  Corey TURNER Ducati Panigale 138
10 Mitch LEVY Yamaha YZF-R1  137
Josh Waters 2017 Superbike Champion:
“I never thought I would be in contention for the championship halfway through the season with a brand new bike that was virtually standard. To win the championship for Team ECSTAR Suzuki is awesome. Big thanks to the team, sponsors and everyone that’s stood by me, I can’t believe it! The turnaround from the start of the season has been huge.”