• HORNSBY 02 9910 9500
  • ST PETERS 02 9564 8000

News & Events


Cal Crutchlow Wins After Great Battle with Johann Zarco, Alex Rins and Polesitter Jack Miller. [pic]


The race result was wide-open after officials made Marquez serve a ride-through whilst leading after previously stalling on the grid and then riding back to his grid spot when he restarted his bike.

Recovering from his penalty, Marquez carved his way through the field to eventually catch Rossi. Marquez then barged his way down the inside of Rossi in Turn 13 forcing his rival onto the grass.


The race start had been delayed when all the riders, except for Jack Miller, returned to the pits after the warm-up lap to change from wet tyres to dry sets. Confusion reigned as the riders were shuffled back to the grid.

Once underway it was Australian Jack Miller who lead the race before Marquez passed him and pulled a two second lead on the field.

On the fifth Marquez was penalized with a ride-through and he re-joined the race in 19th.

The top four of Miller, Rins, Zarco and Crutchlow seized the opportunity to pull away from the pack and swap places and the lead until the last lap when Zarco passed Crutchlow, who then slipstreamed his way back into the lead to claim his third MotoGP win.

Rins celebrated his maiden MotoGP podium in third behind Zarco, while Miller settled for fourth.

Marquez passed Maverick Vinales on the final lap to take fifth, but was hit with a 30-second penalty, for the Rossi pass, that dropped him down to 18th.

Recovering Rossi finished 19th, four places behind floundering Jorge Lorenzo. Dani Pedrosa exited on the highside in the opening lap, after Zarco gave him a nudge.

1 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Honda 40m36.342s
2 Johann Zarco Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 0.251s
3 Alex Rins Suzuki Suzuki 2.501s
4 Jack Miller Pramac Ducati Ducati 4.390s
5 Maverick Vinales Yamaha Yamaha 14.941s
6 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 22.533s
7 Tito Rabat Avintia Ducati Ducati 23.026s
8 Andrea Iannone Suzuki Suzuki 23.921s
9 Hafizh Syahrin Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 24.311s
10 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati Ducati 26.003s
11 Pol Espargaro KTM KTM 31.022s
12 Scott Redding Aprilia Aprilia 31.891s
13 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda Honda 32.452s
14 Franco Morbidelli MVDS Honda Honda 42.061s
15 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati Ducati 42.274s
16 Alvaro Bautista Aspar Ducati Ducati 42.625s
17 Thomas Luthi MVDS Honda Honda 43.350s
18 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 43.860s
19 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 52.082s
20 Karel Abraham Aspar Ducati Ducati 1m03.944s
21 Xavier Simeon Avintia Ducati Ducati 1m10.144s
Bradley Smith KTM KTM Retirement
Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Aprilia Retirement