• HORNSBY 02 9910 9500
  • ST PETERS 02 9564 8000

News & Events

Moto2 Qatar: First Win for Untouchable Italian Franco Morbidelli


The battle-royale behind Franco Morbidelli was of no concern as he pulled away to clearly win the opening Moto2 race of the season in Losail, Qatar.
From race start, Franco Morbidelli showed the rest of the field a clean pair of heels with a series of lightening laps that gave him a winning margin of 2.6 seconds. Second place getter Tom Luthi was busy with the pack for most of the race, including Taka Nakagami who ended up third.

Miguel Oliveira’s fourth was still a stunning debut effort for the Red Bull KTM Ajo team. Alex Marquez was fifth to the line after fading from the lead group. Sixth went to Luca Marini, equalling his best finish with Forward, holding off a great rookie run from Fabio Quartararo making his mark in Moto2 for Pons HP40.

Moto3 champion Brad Binder struggled in his first Moto2 race, with the pain from his healing broken arm limiting his performance and leaving him 20th.

Remy Gardner, Mattia Pasini and Hafizh Syahrin crashed together on the opening lap, Pasini and Syahrin re-joined the race but were too far back to make an impact.

Moto3 Round One Results

Losail Circuit, Doha, Qatar.

  1. Franco Morbidelli ITA (Kalex) 40m 18.480s
    2. Thomas Luthi SWI (Kalex) 40m 21.161s
    3. Takaaki Nakagami JPN (Kalex) 40m 21.784s
    4. Miguel Oliveira POR (KTM) 40m 22.064s
    5. Alex Marquez SPA (Kalex) 40m 29.706s
    6. Luca Marini ITA (Kalex) 40m 32.227s
    7. Fabio Quartararo FRA (Kalex) 40m 32.468s
    8. Lorenzo Baldassarri ITA (Kalex) 40m 35.945s
    9. Xavi Vierge SPA (Tech 3) 40m 35.957s
    10. Axel Pons SPA (Kalex) 40m 36.247s
    11. Dominique Aegerter SWI (Suter) 40m 36.282s
    12. Francesco Bagnaia ITA (Kalex) 40m 36.570s
    13. Danny Kent GBR (Suter) 40m 37.803s
    14. Jesko Raffin SWI (Kalex) 40m 41.278s
    15. Xavier Simeon BEL (Kalex) 40m 42.489s
    16. Marcel Schrotter GER (Suter) 40m 42.557s
    17. Simone Corsi ITA (Speed Up) 40m 46.673s
    18. Yonny Hernandez COL (Kalex) 40m 50.308s
    19. Tetsuta Nagashima JPN (Kalex) 40m 50.319s
    20. Brad Binder RSA (KTM) 40m 52.526s
    21. Isaac Viñales SPA (Kalex) 40m 58.707s
    22. Sandro Cortese GER(Suter) 40m 58.759s
    23. Julian Simon SPA (Kalex) 40m 58.926s
    24. Mattia Pasini ITA (Kalex) 41m 0.981s
    25. Ricard Cardus SPA (Speed Up) 41m 1.480s
    26. Edgar Pons SPA (Kalex) 41m 5.552s
    27. Andrea Locatelli ITA (Kalex) 41m 5.966s
    28. Khairul Idham Pawi MAL (Kalex) 41m 9.686s
    29. Stefano Manzi ITA (Kalex) 41m 20.560s